The Government

Belize is a parliamentary democracy with a constitutional monarchy. The head of state is the British monarch, represented by a Governor-General, while the head of government is the Prime Minister. The country has a bicameral legislature, consisting of the Senate and the House of Representatives. Members of the House of Representatives are elected by popular vote every five years, while members of the Senate are appointed by the Governor-General, with some seats reserved for members of the opposition party. The judiciary is independent and consists of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, and lower courts. 

The country is divided into six districts, each governed by a Council. The councils are responsible for the administration of local government services and are responsible for the development of their respective districts.

Government Ministries

Government Agencies & Departments

Statutory Bodies

Stay Up To Date

Video Highlights


Copyright © 2019 Permanent Mission of Belize to the United Nations